Fajita Seasoning

My cousins and aunt came for dinner tonight, and mum decided that fajitas would be a good shout as they’re kinda fussy (and eat like machines.) Only problem is mum ran out of fajita seasoning; I made some from scratch! It made me think how overpriced premade seasoning mixes are and how easy it is to make your own. 

Fajita Seasoning is essentially:

  • Paprika
  • Cumin
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Chilli powder 
  • Garlic

Other recipes suggest adding onion granules, garlic granules and cayenne pepper. As my mum didn’t have any of these in her cupboard, I used fresh garlic and onion, and swapped the cayenne for some ground coriander. 

I don’t mean to toot my own horn but toot f*ckin toot, my family loved the chicken seasoning! I’d chucked some ‘shrooms (not the magic kind🙄) and red peppers with some sliced white onions in a trusty wok. I stir fried the veg first in a little rapeseed (or canola for my friends across the pond?) oil, then transferred it into a serving bowl and then fried the diced chicken thighs in the same wok. Served it up with some grated Red Leicester cheese, Philly (we ran out of sour cream,) lettuce and wraps. All prepped and cooked in 30 minutes – Jamie O would be proud😉

So making your own seasonings is easy – it’s just a trial and error process and fiddling about with ratios. For instance a “mixed Italian Seasoning” is a mix of dried basil, oregano, thyme. And obviously there’s room for other additions like sage. 

Moroccan is cumin, cinnamon, Rose, hibiscus, coriander… 

Have a go at your own spice concoctions and let me know! 

Leave a Reply

